Energy Healing or The Power of the Mind

Recently, my wife and her family have been getting involved in a few forms of ‘energy healing’.  I know, you’re thinking, ‘What happened with the diet?’  Well, I lost 25 lbs and three inches on my waist and she lost 15 lbs. So it was great, but she needed more.

Energy Healing is focusing your body’s energy to tie into the energy of another person to cause healing and realignment.  Sounds like mumbo jumbo right?  My wife has found two systems that work for her.  One is Body Code, which she feels is helping her discover the foods that hurt her body and contribute to her CFS symptoms.  The other she found is called Quantum Touch, which is using your body’s energy field to tell another’s body’s energy field how to heal.

My wife feels that she is experiencing healing and a better quality of life through using these ‘treatments.’  I have decided to remain impartial, and let her also practice things on me.

While science would go to disprove such things, there are many ancient cultures and peoples who had what seemed to be mystical healings that worked somehow.  Many say that it is just a physical/mystical version of the Placebo Effect.  If you don’t know, a placebo is a sugar pill, a fake, used to trick the mind into healing the body.  Some say that this shows that the mind has a greater control over the body than we thought, allowing it to heal at times even without medicine.  Others say the mind just believes it is better and blocks out signs of pain or problems, a self form of normalcy bias.

At the moment, I can’t say whether it works or not.  And since CFS isn’t a completely understood medical issue, could its cure, or part of its cure, come from the mind, or energy healing actually help heal my wife? And even if she isn’t healing, but feels better and can enjoy a better quality of life, who am I to say that some unquantifiable energy isn’t making her better.  My wife is able to spend time with her family, help me around the house, and be happy again.

Leave a comment