What I Didn’t Know Seven Years Ago

Recently I saw a post from an old friend and roommate on Facebook who was celebrating seven years of marriage.  I reminded me that my own seven year anniversary coming up in a few weeks. (Thankfully I am remembering it).

I fondly remember and love a picture of my wife sitting on the edge of a flower planter in her wedding dress as I left to get my, just newly our, car.  She told me that she was tired, so as the new, young, dutiful husband that I was I left her sitting on the planter outside the LDS temple we were married in, and went to retrieve a ride.  Her uncle, our wedding photographer, snapped a picture of her.  I love that picture of my new bride.  However, at that point seven years ago, I didn’t understand what ‘tired’ ment when it came from her.  I wish I could find that picture to share with you.

I made her go to our reception.  In retrospect, it would have been better if we put the reception on a different day.  Seven years later, she still is upset that we had the reception because she was so tired the entire time.  Even without health problems, I hardly remember it, all she remembers is being emotionally and physically exhausted.

We just made a decision that has affected her health and energy again. (Physical energy to do stuff, not hippy aura energy)  Today, I am writing this while at church, and she is at home, resting because she is again tired.  Now, I am beginning to understand what ‘tired’ means from her.  I know more about what she needs and how I need to respond.  And it makes me appreciate every little thing that she does for me and our family.

Leave a comment